KWGN Not Adopting an Anchorless Format?

I was under the weather earlier this week, and I had a business meeting in Vail this weekend, so the blog has been on the backburner for the last week, but I’m back. With that said…

The Houston Chronicle reports that sister Tribune station to KWGN, CW-affiliated KIAH in Houston is moving to an anchorless newscast format called “NewsFix”. I guess they got the idea from Euronews. If it’s anything like that where the news is front and center, it might be a good idea.

Roger Bare, [KIAH]’s general manager, said KIAH will be the pilot program for Tribune Broadcasting’s NewsFix, which is expected to launch in late September or early October.

“The core concept is to focus more on storytelling by allowing those in the story to tell the story and to place video and audio at the center of all that we do,” Bare said, repeating a sentence included in a memo given to employees.

So, why am I posting about this on a blog about Denver media, you ask? Well, here’s the interesting piece:

Tribune, which owns 23 TV stations, will roll out NewsFix on stations “that don’t have a strong legacy news product or where the local news tradition may not be as strong as it is in other markets,” he said.

Hmm….I’d say KWGN doesn’t have a “strong legacy news product” anymore, at least. Channel 2’s news product all but disappeared with its local marketing agreement with channel 31, and the ill-fated “Deuce” repositioning was widely seen as a flop, which leaves channel 2 today as a shell of its former self.

This led me to postulate that KWGN may adopt Tribune’s new “NewsFix” format. However, a source has told me that this is not necessarily true. My source may be right or wrong; I don’t know, so I guess I’m just posting this for interest only, but this shows that with KWGN’s needed repositioning, anything could be possible.

2 Responses

  1. Spell Check

Leave a Reply

